Deadline’s Reviews Of The Best Picture Oscar Nominees – Watch

Deadline’s Reviews Of The Best Picture Oscar Nominees – Watch

13 Jan 2020 (PT)
OSCAR NOMINEESOSCAR NOMINEEBEST PICTURETHE BESTNOMINEESREVIEWOSCAR

Today, the Motion Picture Academy nominated nine films for the Best Picture Oscar, and I have reviewed all of them here at Deadline over the past few months.

Deadline’s Reviews Of The Best Picture Oscar Nominees – Watch

To say the Academy and I are pretty much on the same page as far as the best movies of 2019 is an understatement. Of the nine nominees, seven also appear on my own Top 10 list for the year. Once Upon a Time in Hollywood, 1917, Parasite and  Ford v Ferrari were my top four in that order, while Jojo Rabbit, Joker and  Marriage Story also were included on my best-of roster. It marks the best correlation I have ever had with Oscar.

It was a very good year for film, and I am happy to say I gave positive reviews to all nine nominees, each one definitely worth checking out. You can do exactly that by clicking the link on each film’s title below. See if you agree.

Oscar Snubs & Surprises: Jennifer Lopez, Robert De Niro, Awkwafina, Women Directors & Christian Bale Get The Cold Shoulder From Academy Voters

1917

Universal/Amblin Partners Director: Sam Mendes Writers: Sam Mendes & Krysty Wilson-Cairns Producers: Sam Mendes, Pippa Harris, Jayne-Ann Tenggren, Callum McDougall Release date: December 25, 2019 Nutshell: If Sam Mendes' epic, yet intimate, World War I-set drama existed just for the depth and breadth of its technical achievement, that would be more than enough. But the bottom line is Mendes knows a great movie is in the story, and the astounding 1917 delivers.

FORD V FERRARI

Disney Director: James Mangold Writers: Jez Butterworth & John-Henry Butterworth, Jason Keller Producers: Peter Chernin, Jenno Topping, James Mangold Release Date: November 14, 2019 Nutshell: Put all of Hollywood's classic racing dramas on the track and they all come up short of the checkered flag against James Mangold's smashing film, which also never forgets it isn't as much about as the cars as it is about the humans driving them.

THE IRISHMAN

Netflix Director: Martin Scorsese Writer: Steve Zaillian Producers: Martin Scorsese, Robert De Niro, Jane Rosenthal, Emma Tillinger Koskoff Release Date: November 1, 2019 Nutshell: This take on crime figure Frank Sheeran is a perfect coda to Martin Scorsese’s crime films. If anyone can pull off this kind of tale, it's Scorsese — and pull it off he definitely does.

Oscar Nominations 2020: Deadline’s Complete Coverage

JOJO RABBIT

Searchlight Director: Taika Waititi Writer: Taika Waititi Producers: Carthew Neal, Taika Waititi Release Date: October 17, 2019 Nutshell: Director-screenwriter Taika Waititi takes on that risk and challenge and succeeds admirably with a film that will amuse you but, more importantly, remind us of the idiocy and horrors of Hitler and his ilk.

JOKER

Warner Bros Director: Todd Phillips Writer: Todd Phillips & Scott Silver Producer: Todd Phillips, Bradley Cooper and Emma Tillinger Koskoff, Producers Release date: October 3, 2019 Nutshell: Joker in a bravura piece of filmmaking that speaks to the world we are actually living in today in ways that few movies do. This is a movie unlike any other from the DC universe, and you will find it impossible to shake off.

LITTLE WOMEN

Sony Pictures Releasing Director: Greta Gerwig Writer: Greta Gerwig Producer: Amy Pascal Release date: December 25, 2019 Nutshell: Is there really a need for yet another stab at Little Women? In the hands of writer-director Greta Gerwig, who clearly has a passion for the book and especially its timeless appeal to young women, the answer is affirmative.

MARRIAGE STORY

Netflix Director: Noah Baumbach Writer: Noah Baumbach Producers: Noah Baumbach, David Heyman Release Date: November 6, 2019 Nutshell: I have to use the “M-word” to describe his latest, and that would be, simply, masterpiece. But don't go into it with all those lofty expectations because this is a movie that will sneak up on you, one you can relate to no matter your marital status.

ONCE UPON A TIME IN HOLLYWOOD

Sony Pictures Releasing Director: Quentin Tarantino Writer: Quentin Tarantino Producers: David Heyman, Shannon McIntosh, Quentin Tarantino, Release Date: July 25, 2019 Nutshell: Set in 1969 at the intersection of a changing film industry and social upheaval, Quentin Tarantino's ninth film is the one it seems that is closest to its director, and it also happens to be his best.

PARASITE

Neon Director: Bong Joon Ho Writers: Bong Joon Ho, Han Jin Won story by Bong Joon Ho Producers: Kwak Sin Ae, Bong Joon Ho Release Date: October 10, 2019 Nutshell: It not only is simply great and inspired, it also happens to be socially conscious filmmaking of the highest order. The tragicomedy focuses on the wide divide in class status in society that is universal in many ways.

Source: deadline.com

OSCAR NOMINEESOSCAR NOMINEEBEST PICTURETHE BESTNOMINEESREVIEWOSCAR
Weekend of July 10 - 12, 2020 (IMDb)
Relic
1.
Relic
Net: $0.2M Grs: $0.5M
Weeks: 2
The Lodge
2.
The Lodge
Net: $0.1M Grs: $2.1M
Weeks: 23
Archive
3.
Archive
Net: $0.1M Grs: $0.1M
Weeks: 1
Followed
4.
Followed
Net: $0.0M Grs: $0.5M
Weeks: 4
Becky
5.
Becky
Net: $0.0M Grs: $0.9M
Weeks: 6
The Wretched
6.
The Wretched
Net: $0.0M Grs: $1.7M
Weeks: 11
Miss Juneteenth
7.
Miss Juneteenth
Net: $0.0M Grs: $0.1M
Weeks: 4
Guest Artist
8.
Guest Artist
Net: $0.0M Grs: $0.0M
Weeks: 1
The Fox Hunter
9.
The Fox Hunter
Net: $0.0M Grs: $0.0M
Weeks: 6
The Transcendents
10.
The Transcendents
Net: $0.0M Grs: $0.0M
Weeks: 3
Deadline’s Reviews Of The Best Picture Oscar Nominees – Watch
Movie News | Entertainment News | TV shows | Trailers | Videos | Movier.net for movie lovers
Copyright - www.movier.net - Email: [email protected]
Movier.net just now